This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Aug 13, 2013 1:19 AM by Philip Stoyanov RSS

Problems Engineering Surrogate Primary Key with Unique Key

marcusafs Journeyer
Currently Being Moderated

SDDM 3.3.0.747 with 2 problems (at least so far).  I am hoping that the problem is with this SDDM rookie and I have overlooked some setting. PROBLEM 1 I don’t want to start a religious debate about surrogate vs. natural keys but I am having a problem engineering both correctly from the logical model.  I am a rookie when it comes to SDDM but have many years of experience with Designer. By default I like to have both a natural UID  (UK) and a surrogate key based primary UID (PK) which is used for foreign keys.  The problem I am having with engineering is I can successfully engineer the surrogate PK’s, engineer the FK’s using the PK’s but cannot get the unique key to contain the surrogate keys in the child table.  If I check the identifying property in the relations, the PK columns and the UK columns are included in the child PK and the UK contains no columns. The Setup I have defined two reference entities, PROBABILITY and SEVERITY with natural unique keys defined.  I also have a child entity RISK_ASSESMENT with relationships back to the PROBABILITY and SEVERITY entities and both have the “Use surrogate keys:”: check box checked.  The unique key for the RISK_ASSESMENT entity includes the relationships back to PROBILITY and SEVERITY.  None of the entities have a PK or surrogate key defined and they all have the “Create Surrogate Key” check box checked.  In addition the following preferences are set: Data Modeler/Model/Logical   NOT Checked - Use And Set First Unique Key As Primary Key   NOT Checked – Name – Keep as the name of the Originating attribute   Checked – Entity Create Surrogate Key   Checked – Relationship Use Surrogate Key PROBLEM 2 When the foreign key columns are engineered I want the names to have a prefix “FK_” but they don’t.  Templates are set as follo