This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 19, 2013 5:23 AM by Recx Ltd RSS

Calling stored procedure from Apex

84e45717-06df-499e-a789-5312b7434a74 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

I am a total newbie at Apex so any help would be appreciated. My situation:

I created Apex app with few forms and reports. Since I want to implement security for some tables, example:

Table Employee has columns email and credit_card_num. These 2 columns are encrypted using DBMS_CRYPTO.

My Oracle Database version in Oracle XE 11g Release 2.

So I have stored procedure and package for encryption and decryption using dbms_crypto.

When I add new employee in APEX form email and credit card number are passed as plain text and saved on that way in database.

1. How can I make it to be saved as encrypted value using package and procedures I've created in the database (to parse the inserted value to function)?

2. Since I am a total dummy and newbie at Apex can anyone explain me how does Apex really work? Is the inserted data sent in plain text or encrypted over network?

Thank you

• 1. Re: Calling stored procedure from Apex
    jrimblas Expert

84e45717-06df-499e-a789-5312b7434a74 wrote:

1. How can I make it to be saved as encrypted value using package and procedures I've created in the database (to parse the inserted value to function)?

You have a few options.  You can create a Process (after submit process) that calls your code.

For example, if your form is on Page 2 and you're saving the EMP table your process could look like this:

begin
      app_util.emp_save_secure(p_EMPNO => :P2_EMPNO
    , p_ename => :P2_ENAME
    , p_deptno => :P2_DEPTNO);
    end;

Here of course app_util is your own package (with any name you want) and emp_save_secure is the procedure that will receive the params to save.