6 Replies Latest reply: Aug 20, 2013 5:40 AM by makel RSS

How to get server output in SQL Developer

BeverlyABeeman-Oracle

I am learning SQL Deverloper and am using it in a University environment as well as Oracle test instances at Oracle.

I know my way around SQL some but I am just learning PL/SQL.  I want to run an anonymous block and see output for the "dbms_output.put_line" items.

At school, I enter my block in the "SQL Worksheet" and receive the "anonymous block completed" in the "Script Output" screen.  Then there is a 3rd screen, the name of which I cannot remember, but I believe it is the equivalent of "server output".  When I open it I have to tell it which database I'm using.  Then, I see the dbms output lines in this 3rd section.

The problem is when I am using SQL Developer at work, I see only 2 sections:  "SQL Worksheet" and "Script Output".

I have looked but cannot find an option or a button or a window that is called something like "server output" or "view server output."

Can a more experienced user please help me?

I am using:

SQL Developer Version 3.1.07

Build MAIN-07.42

Linux x86-64

(Oracle Internal:

Instance: http://celalnx38.us.oracle.com:10507/

tnsnames: 10500)

• 1. Re: How to get server output in SQL Developer
          BeverlyABeeman-Oracle

ROFL!  So I went back and looked again, just to be sure.... and I found  DBMS OUTPUT on the VIEW menu.  LARGE AS LIFE, but I have never SEEN it there before....

• 2. Re: How to get server output in SQL Developer
            Gary Graham-Oracle

Just an FYI.  Dbms_Output has been on the View menu since the 2.1 release.  Prior to that it was hardwired as a sibling tab to Query Results/Script Output for each Worksheet -- but that caused some confusion for worksheets sharing a connection.

-Gary-

• 3. Re: How to get server output in SQL Developer
              makel

It is quite confusing when you have several tabs and several connections on the go.  Will this be the same in v4?