1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 22, 2013 4:13 AM by sagargole

Materialized View Refresh Methods

I have a master table say PRODUCTS (non partitioned) having 4 million records and a partitioned (range on YYYYMM) SALES table in 10g database.

There is monthly data load into the SALES tables, not too much data change on PRODUCTS table though.

I need a materialized view on Products Sales; what should be the best approach to create and refresh the materialized view.

So far I have created Materialized View mv_products_sales on prebuilt table and refresh on demand. The prebuilt table mv_products_sales is range partitioned on YYYYMM and created nicely.

Please suggest if it is right approach and what should be the refresh method.

• 1. Re: Materialized View Refresh Methods
          sagargole

Hi,

Building the materialized views on a prebuilt table has its own advantages. I would recommend the following articles for more details on materialized views on Prebuilt tables.

Hemant's Oracle DBA Blog: Materialized View on Prebuilt Table

http://arup.blogspot.in/2009/01/ultra-fast-mv-alteration-using-prebuilt.html

As far as refresh methods go you have done the right thing by specifying the REFRESH on DEMAND clause. Here are a few points you need to consider.

• Since data is going to be incrementally loaded in SALES table refreshing your materialized view with the 'C' (Complete) clause every time is going to be a costly affair.
          • It is recommended that your materialized view be eligible for FAST refresh on your PRODUCTS table and PCT and FAST refresh on your SALES table. You can use the DBMS_MVIEW.EXPLAIN_MVIEW procedure to know the capabilities of your materialized view. You can check this link for more details DBMS_MVIEW.