This discussion is archived
2 Replies Latest reply: Aug 25, 2013 8:05 AM by rp0428 RSS

Java - starting a developers collective

5ed181de-99b8-4b7d-9ec3-adb981b82f24 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hi,

I've been learning how to develop in Java over the last year. Recently I've been thinking about putting together a program to help me revise for the OCA exam. My background is in e-learning to I would like to hear from anybody with good ideas for the program or suggestions.

My main aim is to use the program to help myself and others to learn Java inside out. I also plan to start a community based project that will allow others to get up and running in Java. If anybody has any ideas please get in touch.

I m a strong believer in teamwork, spreading knowledge breaking stereotypes about programmers. With the right team we can break new ground. As far as I know there isn't an application that focuses on learning about Java, so there is a massive gap in the market.

Please get in touch if you have any suggestions/ideas or feedback.

All the best,

Mark

• 1. Re: Java - starting a developers collective
    939520 Explorer

Given you have completed one year of Java, have you completed any projects from scratch on your own (ideally, several)? From initial requirement gathering, through determining what technologies to use and what are the trade offs between them (example: JDBC vs Hibernate), through implementation, and deployment? I personally think this will be more valuable to you at this time than studying for an OCA exam. If I was interviewing someone, I would rather see the projects (at home and/or at work) they worked on rather than any certifications (that's just me). However, some countries may put much more weight on certifications for those just starting out. You may want to research the value of certifications in your area for someone starting out.