This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Aug 27, 2013 12:31 AM by BAO.SZ RSS

What degree of productivity can jdev/adf achieve compare to eclipse?

BAO.SZ Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi, experts,
"Choice of productivity"--said jdev on it's startup--it's the main reason for me/us to make the choice, and I believe it's true.
To my opinion, most of us--the application developers--should focus our energy and resource on finding requirement and fulfilling it quickly.
We need not to enjoy the excitement of coding or implementing a new low level framework by ourselves.
So the features of end to end solution, declarative developing etc from jdev/adf would be a sound solution.
And since I myself had the experience of developing with Oracle Designer/Developer tools many years ago, I can take pretty sure it will be a smart choice for adopting jdev/adf.

Many years ago, when I worked in an IT department as a developer, my director made a not easy decision on choosing Oracle Devoloper as main tools instead of VB/PB. --many people said we were maverick. Because oracle forms was not widely used.

But now the issues are:
--none of us have enough jdev/adf experience.
I myself had enough(and out dated) forms/ PLSQL experience but none of java/js experience.
(I began a real try on jdev/adf two month ago, but have not finished any serious applications function yet, I'm still entangled with trivial issues such as how to highlight current row in an adf table etc).
Our other team members have enough java/ eclipse experience but none of jdev/adf knowledge.
--And all of our other team members are not willing to adopt a new tool. Objections include:
Eclipse is good enough, even more powerful ! There are more people use it--if jdev/adf is better, why fewer adopt it?
The declarative way of jdev/adf is only for demo and toy, you cannot dev real complex app on them.

So, even if I'm the boss who can make the decision, I still need strong support for this decision: