This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply: Sep 11, 2013 8:56 AM by labaublitz RSS

Validating Tabular Form Column Against Value From Another Table

labaublitz Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hi,

I am brand new to this forum, so please bear with me a little!  I only have a small amount of experience writing PL/SQL, and I've never written Javascript or JQuery before.  I am an Oracle DBA, and I have coding experience in C and PERL, so I do have a solid technical background.  But, I need some advice on the best way to approach a problem.

I have a database application in Oracle Apex (version 4.2) with a tabular form against a table: let's say Table #1 with cols 1A, 1B, and1C.  I need to ensure that the value entered into col B isn't greater than the value of a column in another table (let's say Table #2 col 2A).  Conceptually, the amount of money available is in Table #2, and the rows of my tabular form are an act of spending money (like orders or invoices), so I need to make sure we don't spend more than we have.  Does that make sense?

Does anyone have any advice for the best way to do this?  I'm figuring the biggest issue here might be that we have to account for people entering mutliple rows in the tabular form at one time, right?  So, if a person entered 3 orders/invoices, I need a total to make sure they didn't spend more than we have in Table #2.

I greatly appreciate your help! 

Best Regards,

Laurie Baublitz

• 1. Re: Validating Tabular Form Column Against Value From Another Table
    Ramesh P, Oracle APEX Developer Journeyer

TABLE1

COLS: A1, B1, C1

TABLE2

COLS: A2, B2, C2

Lets say validate B1 aganist B2

Create a validation by selecting the tabular form on your page from validations block

Select PLSQL returning text.

Select column B1

DECLARE
    v_val VARCHAR2(100);

BEGIN

SELECT B2 INTO v_val FROM TABLE2 WHERE A2 = :A1;

IF v_val > :B1 THEN

RETURN 'The value you entered cannot exceed amount';

ELSE

RETURN NULL;

END;