This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 29, 2013 3:53 AM by andrewmy RSS

How 2 calculate time it will take to create a Form

user12240205 Explorer
Currently Being Moderated

Hello,

I am an Oracle Forms developer with 4 years of experience in developing applications using Oracle Forms & Reports (i.e. 10g Forms). Now, for the 1st time, I have been assigned to lead a project to build a Guest House Management System. My problem is that I have been asked to prepare a project plan and for that I have to give the time it takes to develop the forms and reports.

Problem is, I have no idea of how long each form and report is going to take. So, my questions to the experts who have lead teams to develop forms applications is, “How do you calculate the time it takes to complete a form and report”? How do you answer this question if you were leading the project (as technical lead) and your PM asked you this question? Do you do “Function Point Analysis”?

• Do you have metrics? Like, this type of form will take this amount of time...
    • Can you share them if possible?
    • We of course don't have metrics as to times taken to develop past forms (& reports), so in this case, how can we get about getting even a “rough idea” of the time it takes to develop the forms (& reports)?

Problem is, you cannot say a form is low, medium or high in complexity just by looking at the screens since you can have a form with only 2 or 3 items, but has 100s of lines of PL/SQL code, in the form and in the DB (as stored procedures).

We have the System Design Document (SDS) with all the forms designed using MS Visio. So, the exact look of the form will be drawn using MS Visio diagrams. For each form, we also have the processing that should happen for each item, described in English. For example, if a form has a “process” button, we have what the processing should be, in pseudo code style English.