3 Replies Latest reply: Sep 19, 2013 6:25 AM by ptoye RSS

How to detect character file encoding?

ptoye

I'm new to the nio classes, and had sort of assumed that as they're Unicode-oriented they'd automatically look at the magic numbers at the beginning of text files and do any conversions necessary.

But I see that I have to tell Files.newBufferedReader what the encoding is. How (without using a byte editor) am I expected to know? Agreed, quite a lot of applications don't insert the magic numbers, but if even Notepad can do it, surely Java can read it? Or am I missing a class or method somewhere?

• 1. Re: How to detect character file encoding?
          sabre150

ptoye wrote: Agreed, quite a lot of applications don't insert the magic numbers

A gross understatement. Very very few application prepend the BOM character encoding magic numbers to text files.

ptoye wrote: but if even Notepad can do it, surely Java can read it?

Notepad is not a good advertisement for anything but I agree that I would have expected some option on StreamReader and StreamWriter to handle the BOM magic numbers. Several years ago I posted on the Sun forums a much plagiarised class to strip the BOM prefix. Since then I have created but not published Reader and Writer classes that handle the BOM. I have not published them because I'm not happy with my approach but at the moment I'm not actively working with Java so its a case of 'out of sight, out of mind' . This thread may push me into working on them again.

• 2. Re: How to detect character file encoding?
            ptoye

Take your point about Notepad . It's not important now, as I've got round it. I was just a bit surprised that there wasn't already something in the nio package which did the work for me.