This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Sep 4, 2013 1:14 AM by ShuklaJi RSS

Learning TT database

ShuklaJi Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hi All,

I'm new to this Times Ten in memory Database.

I'm analyzing scope of using it for our web application.

I've gone through DEMOs at OLL Advanced Search but still I've few questions in my mind.

1. My Oracle database has implemented VPD (Virtual private database). Does TT have VPD?

2. My Oracle database size is nearly 5 GB, which I want to keep in Times Ten Cache database. I can understand that using Cache group, I can cache set of tables in Oracle database into TT database. These tables should have a  foreign Key relationship. I've certain tables in Oracle database, those are rarely updated ( say my_customer_names, my_product_list etc) Even though there is no master detail relation ship, CAN I CACHE THESE TABLES in TT database?

3. I can understand that we provide a refresh interval while creating these Cache Group. How can I recover my data in TT database if the TT database crashes 2-3 seconds after refreshing.?

4. Do I need to manually copy each stored procedure written in pl/sql in my Oracle database to the TT database? or there is any utility available?

5. Are triggers supported in TT database?

6. If there is a performance issue in TT database, how can I identify the bottle neck and tune the same?

Bottom line is, I've an Oracle database for an application, having size nearly 5 GB. I want to migrate it as it is to the TT database ( because I've heard it is much more faster) so that my web applications has everything in cache, but finally it is writing the data into my original Oracle Database. What is the easiest way to achieve this.

Please point me to some docs for the beginners as well.

Many thanks

Amit

• 1. Re: Learning TT database
    ChrisJenkins Guru

With regard to your questions:

1. My Oracle database has implemented VPD (Virtual private database). Does TT have VPD?