This discussion is archived
0 Replies Latest reply: Sep 5, 2013 2:20 PM by 41dccdf4-8ff5-4e9d-ab2c-3fd9a74f9920 RSS

EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION in native zipping code on Class Load

41dccdf4-8ff5-4e9d-ab2c-3fd9a74f9920 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Afternoon gents:

So I'm kind've excited by this since I'm an undergrad, and I'm hoping this is actually a bug, such that I've actually found a bug in the JVM!

So, the scary message that showed up in standard error:

# A fatal error has been detected by the Java Runtime Environment:

#

#  EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x000000005ec13ae1, pid=328, tid=68

#

# JRE version: 7.0_25-b17

# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (23.25-b01 mixed mode windows-amd64 compressed oops)

# Problematic frame:

# C  [zip.dll+0x3ae1]  Java_java_util_zip_ZipFile_getZipMessage+0x1749

#

# Failed to write core dump. Minidumps are not enabled by default on client versions of Windows

#

# If you would like to submit a bug report, please visit:

#   http://bugreport.sun.com/bugreport/crash.jsp

# The crash happened outside the Java Virtual Machine in native code.

# See problematic frame for where to report the b

I've got 6 or 7 of those log files generated, I've uploaded the most recent one as a gist here:

https://gist.github.com/Groostav/6446505

I can reliably create this crash (though the stack frame would change slightly every time, though it is always caused either by OptimizerNode.run() or one of its spawned threads). Our application flow is one in which that you as a user navigate around our program through various dialogs and popups setting up variables and configuring our program for a run. When you hit the button to start the run, a huge chunk of memory is allocated, a bunch of threads are spawned and delegates are run. Our program consumes an order of magnitude more system resources, both in CPU time and in memory, when you hit our "run" button.