This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Sep 6, 2013 5:50 AM by Pradeepcmst RSS

SQL schemas

jajaja Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Goodmorning,

I'm new to oracle, so please be patient.

I notice this difference:

if I have a table 'EMPLOYEES'  in schema ' SYSTEM' then I can query that table like this: ' SELECT * FROM EMPLOYEES'.

If I have the same table in another schema 'TEST'  then I have to query like this: ' SELECT * FROM TEST.EMPLOYEES';

How can I avoid that? I would like to query without the schema-name in the SQL-statement. And, is it a problem if I add my own tables to the schema 'SYSTEM'. Are there disadvantages?

Greetings,

Mieke

• 1. Re: SQL schemas
    Bas de Klerk Pro

Hi Mieke,

The schema (=user) name in front of a table is only needed when referring to another schema when logged in as another user.

If you want to be able to refer to an object ( table/view ) in another schema without specifying the schema name you can create synonyms.

CREATE SYNONYM EMPLOYEES FOR SYSTEM.EMPLOYEES would create a synonym named EMPLOYEES.

Don't create tables in the oracle (administrator) schemas like sys and system. There are many reasons for this.

Just a few : One reason is that you put your data between the oracle repository ( like storing files in c:\windows\system32 ), another would be that you fragment the space allocation in the system tablespace (not that big of a problem anymore ). If you want to remove all your own objects you can just drop the entire user instead of having to delete all individual objects etc etc.

Just create a schema(user) and create your own objects as that user.

• 2. Re: SQL schemas
    jariola Guru

Hi,

Do not ever create any objects to system schemas like SYS or SYSTEM!

Let's say you have schema A and B.

In schema A you have table EMP witch you like schema B access.

First you need grant select privilege

GRANT SELECT A.EMP TO B;

Then you can query table in schema B like

SELECT *
    FROM A.EMP