6 Replies Latest reply: Sep 10, 2013 8:15 AM by Kent Graziano RSS

Can't get DDL generator to work.

user8093006

As I become with more familiar with Orable SQL Developer, it becomes increasingky clear that this tool is completely unfit for intended purpose.

It's taken me over an hour to reverse-engineer a 1600-table schema today , a task that would take 5-10 minutes in Powerdesigner.

I then attempted to generate a DDL export of the resulting schema without success ; it just accepted my parameters  then appeared

to just loose interest and stop exceuting , without producing anything.

Bordering on useless .  

• 1. Re: Can't get DDL generator to work.
          Kent Graziano

Sorry to hear that. I have been using the tool for over 3 years now and am quite happy with it, especially given the price!

I currently am using it with a schema of over 500 tables with no issues. It takes about 5 minutes to import the model.

What version are you using? What type of desktop/laptop/workstation are you running on? One of my colleagues was having a performance issue recently that turned out to be due to the fact he was saving everything to a shared network drive. When he switched to save on his local machine, the problem went away.

• 2. Re: Can't get DDL generator to work.
            Guenter Reberschak, TU GRAZ

user8093006 schrieb:

As I become with more familiar with Orable SQL Developer, it becomes increasingky clear that this tool is completely unfit for intended purpose.

I am using SDDM for 1 year now and although there are some small not so well done issues I am quite satisfied with it. Our intented purpose is to have one tool for

developing/adapting applications with ERDs and to produce the DDL scripts for our developers. And this job is done well with SDDM. And don't forget the price as Kent said.

I then attempted to generate a DDL export of the resulting schema without success ; it just accepted my parameters  then appeared