This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 11, 2013 7:21 AM by gimbal2 RSS

How the Java web applications are developed ?

Currently Being Moderated

I am new to Java and only know some key word.

I heard Weblogic and Websphere have a lot of share in Java application server.

And I heard and googled about some Java framework like Spring,Struts,Seasars.

I guess that Eclipse are most used for Java programming or NetBeans.

Q1

What is the relation between J2EE server and java framework ?

Q2

Spring , Struts ,etc framework are usable in Weblogic ,Websphere, JBoss,etc ?

Q3

Which combinations are mostly used for Java application development do you think ?

( for example,    Weblogic, Spring, Eclipse )

• 1. Re: How the Java web applications are developed ?
    1008515 Newbie

I am also a newbie. Here's my humble opinion within my limited vision.

Q1

J2EE application servers are the containers to hold and run your code, application. Frameworks aim to simplify  and standardize the common process in building one application, like authentication, database communication etc. You use the kitchenware(frameworks) to cook and tableware(server) to serve the dish. And the J2EE terminology has been changed to Java Platform, Enterprise Edition.

Q2

It seems odd to say if a server is compatible with frameworks. It's more accurate to say if a server is certified with one particular specification, like Java EE 6 or Java EE 7.

Possibly the have some relations.

Q3

Sorry, no idea.

• 2. Re: How the Java web applications are developed ?
    939520 Explorer

This might help: