This discussion is archived
14 Replies Latest reply: Sep 16, 2013 8:11 AM by 3fca34d0-9ad2-464a-adcb-67111ce9c5a9 RSS

how do i do a select on results of a stored procedure?

3fca34d0-9ad2-464a-adcb-67111ce9c5a9 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hello,

I'm new to Oracle. I'm working in SQL Developer.

I'm trying to do a simple select on the results of a stored procedure call. I'm not sure how to do it. Here's what I've got so far:

declare
type ref_cursor is ref cursor;
results ref_cursor;
begin
MyStoredProcedure(123, results);
select * from results;
end;
/

but it tells me:

Error starting at line 1 in command:
declare
type ref_cursor is ref cursor;
results ref_cursor;
begin
GET_TAX_TYPE_BY_TAX_ENTITY_KEY(60670100000000, results);
select * from results;
end;
Error report:
ORA-06550: line 6, column 15:
PL/SQL: ORA-00942: table or view does not exist
ORA-06550: line 6, column 1:
PL/SQL: SQL Statement ignored
06550. 00000 -  "line %s, column %s:\n%s"
*Cause:    Usually a PL/SQL compilation error.
*Action:

Obviously, select * from results; is not the right way to do it. But what is?

Thanks for any forthcoming advice.

• 1. Re: how do i do a select on results of a stored procedure?
    SomeoneElse Guru

Here's a simple SQL Plus demo:

SQL> create or replace procedure

2  cur_test (p_cur out sys_refcursor) is

3  begin

4     open p_cur for select * from emp;

5  end;

6  /

Procedure created.

SQL> var results refcursor

SQL> exec cur_test(:results);

PL/SQL procedure successfully completed.

SQL> print results

EMPNO ENAME      JOB                        MGR

-------------------- ---------- --------- --------------------

7369 SMITH      CLERK                     7902

7499 ALLEN      SALESMAN                  7698

7521 WARD       SALESMAN                  7698

7566 JONES      MANAGER                   7839

7654 MARTIN     SALESMAN                  7698

7698 BLAKE      MANAGER                   7839

7782 CLARK      MANAGER                   7839