This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Sep 16, 2013 6:46 AM by Howard (... in Training) RSS

Deleting row from detail tabular form saves changes in master form

Nick4 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hi All

Using APEX 4.2 on 11g.

I have a wizard generated Master Detail page (master form and detail tabular form on same page)

If I do this...

1. Edit a field in the master form, but don't save.

2. Delete an existing row from the detail tabular form with the 'Delete Checked' button.

3. Click 'Cancel' to leave page without saving.

The row has been deleted from the detail table, that's fair enough, but the changes made to the master have been saved.

This is confusing for the end users, I don't want this functionality. I only want my changes to the master form saved if I actually click the 'Save' button.

How do I make Delete Checked just delete the row from the detail table without affecting the master table?

Nick

• 1. Re: Deleting row from detail tabular form saves changes in master form
    Tom Petrus Expert

Deleting rows from the tabular form submits the page, although I wouldn't think that the row process for the master record is actually saved since that only triggers from certain request values or the sql action set on a button. Are you sure the data is saved to the database and the field in the master form is not just saving session state (eg the source is not db column)?

• 2. Re: Deleting row from detail tabular form saves changes in master form
    Paul Broughton Pro

HI Nick,

If you add a condition to the Process on your page that is updating the Master Form normally called "Process Row Of ...

The condition you need to add is the below presuming your allowing insert/update/delete on the master form:

Condition Type:   Request is contained within Expression 1

In Expression 1 field enter:  CREATE,SAVE,DELETE