This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 20, 2013 11:48 AM by orausern RSS

About index memory parameter for Oracle text indexes

orausern Explorer
Currently Being Moderated

Hi Experts,

I am on Oracle 11.2.0.3 on Linux and have implemented Oracle Text. I am not an expert in this subject and need help about one issue. I created Oracle Text indexes with default setting. However in an oracle white paper I read that the default setting may not be right. Here is the excerpt from the white paper by Roger Ford:

URL:http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/database/enterprise-edition/index-maintenance-089308.html

"(Part of this white paper below....)

Index Memory                                    As mentioned above, cached $I entries are flushed to disk each time the indexing memory is exhausted. The default index memory at installation is a mere 12MB, which is very low. Users can specify up to 50MB at index creation time, but this is still pretty low.                                   

This would be done by a CREATE INDEX statement something like:

CREATE INDEX myindex ON mytable(mycol) INDEXTYPE IS ctxsys.context PARAMETERS ('index memory 50M');  

Allow index memory settings above 50MB, the CTXSYS user must first increase the value of the MAX_INDEX_MEMORY parameter, like this:                                

begin ctx_adm.set_parameter('max_index_memory', '500M'); end;  

The setting for index memory should never be so high as to cause paging, as this will have a serious effect on indexing speed. On smaller dedicated systems, it is sometimes advantageous to temporarily decrease the amount of memory consumed by the Oracle SGA (for example by decreasing DB_CACHE_SIZE and/or SHARED_POOL_SIZE) during the index creation process. Once the index has been created, the SGA size can be increased again to improve query performance."

(End here from the white paper excerpt)

My question is: