This discussion is archived
11 Replies Latest reply: Sep 26, 2013 7:19 AM by greybird RSS

Help setting up correct key/index structure

9b78ff64-42a5-49e3-ac23-f5d19e32749a Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hi,

I'm new to BDB and have spent some time reading the docs and playing with the examples. I'm a little confused as to how best to structure my keys and indexes to achieve what I want, and would appreciate any pointers to set me on the right track and avoid going down too many blind alleys. I'm looking to use the Java DPL API if possible to keep things simple.

I want to store a single Event entity class with the following fields: id (int), timestamp (java.util.Date), componentId (int), status (int).

I would like to query all events between a time period (start/end date) with a specific status, and ordered by componentId. What's the best approach to optimise this query?

Thanks,

Simon.

• 1. Re: Help setting up correct key/index structure
    Andrei Costache, Oracle Journeyer

Hi Simon,

I think you'll find the following two resources very useful:

Performing Queries in Oracle Berkeley DB Java Edition

Getting Started with Berkeley DB Java Edition  (specifically, the "Programming with the Direct Persistence Layer" section)

The Javadoc for the JE's APIs is here.

In the Event entity class your primary key will be id, and all others will be secondary keys.  Your query expressed in SQL would be something like:  SELECT * FROM event WHERE (timestamp >= start AND timestamp <= end) AND status = X  ORDER BY componentId;

Assuming that the primary index is defined and created like this:

PrimaryIndex<integer, Event> eventById = store.getPrimaryIndex(Integer.class, Event.class);

a) Getting the entities that satisfy the the range query on timestamp can be done using and EntityIndex.entities() call like:

EntityCursor<Event> curEventsInTimestampRange = eventByTimestamp.entities((new Date()).setTime(startTime), true, (new Date()).setTime(endTime), true);