This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Oct 7, 2013 3:21 AM by ranit B RSS

Reg: Installing Apex -

ranit B Expert
Currently Being Moderated

Hi APExperts,

I'm a PL/SQL and ETL Developer... very new to the APEX world. So have few basic qns, could you please help me out?

Currently started reading - Quick Start

1. Can we install APEX on our local system? How?

2. Can we support APEX with Oracle XE as database (both locally hosted)?

3. Will this setup (APEX + Oracle XE database) be accessible from other remote locations? In other words, can it behave like an intranet page?

Please guide me  Help much appreciated.

Thanks and Regards

-- Ranit

(on Oracle Database 11g Express Edition Release 11.2.0.2.0 - Production)

• 1. Re: Reg: Installing Apex -
    jariola Guru

Hi,

All 11g Oracle databases editions, including XE, comes with preinstalled APEX.

I do not know what you mean by local system, but you can install XE e.g. to your laptop.

If you open firewall and allow remote access, then others in network can access to your APEX applications.

Regards,

Jari

• 2. Re: Reg: Installing Apex -
    ranit B Expert

Hi Jariola,

Thanks a lot for your response.

All 11g Oracle databases editions, including XE, comes with preinstalled APEX.

Really?? But the docs says I've to download it -- http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E37097_01/doc/install.42/e35123/otn_install.htm#BABHHIJB

You got it correct; by "local system" I meant my laptop only.

Can you please give me some pointer that how and where should I start from? Any particular reference link?

[Off-topic] -- I've not seen much interaction and questions being exchangedin the APEX space, as compared to PL/SQL and General.

Can we do something to enhance this?

Thanks and Regards

-- Ranit

• 3. Re: Reg: Installing Apex -
    jariola Guru

Hi,

If you wish use latest APEX 4.2.3, then you need download and install it. If I recall correctly 11g XE comes with APEX 4.1.