This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Oct 7, 2013 4:51 PM by Dude! RSS

Linux

991805 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hi All,

I am new to linux and I got a new linux server that has oracle software installed in it and when I type

cat /etc/*-release

Enterprise Linux Enterprise Linux Server release 5.8 (Carthage)

Oracle Linux Server release 5.8

Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 5.8 (Tikanga)

cat /proc/version

Linux version 2.6.32-300.11.1.el5uek (mockbuild@ca-build56.us.oracle.com) (gcc version 4.1.2 20080704 (Red Hat 4.1.2-50)) #1 SMP Wed Mar 7 09:55:50 EST 2012

My first question why do I see different linux releases when I type /etc/*-release and what is the difference between version and release?

• 1. Re: Linux
    UserAL1178M Explorer

Your system is OEL 5.8 (Oracle Enterprise Linux), a Linux distribution based on Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), repackaged and freely distributed by Oracle.

The reason you see different Linux release is:

Oracle Corporation distributes Oracle Linux with two kernels:

• Red Hat Compatible Kernel - identical to the kernel shipped in Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL).
    • Unbreakable Enterprise Kernel - based on a later Linux 2.6-series kernel, with Oracle's own enhancements

(Taken from WIKIPEDIA)

• 2. Re: Linux
    991805 Newbie

Thank you for the information

• 3. Re: Linux
    Dude! Guru

One is the Linux kernel version, the other is the Linux distribution version. The running kernel can be seen using the uname command or browsing /proc/version. The Linux distribution is shown in the /etc/release files.