This discussion is archived
11 Replies Latest reply: Oct 14, 2013 1:19 AM by a73f2c5c-407f-44fa-a70d-b744a2bf5128 RSS

Executing a job using DBMS_SCHEDULER inside a trigger

a73f2c5c-407f-44fa-a70d-b744a2bf5128 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hi All,

I am fairly new to Oracle, so excuse me if I am not very clear with the explanation of my problem.

I would like to execute an external batch file in Windows using DBMS_SCHEDULER in an Oracle database (10g or a higher version). I intend this to be done through a trigger, which would be called on encountering specific errors in Oracle. The problem is that I can't create triggers on SYS objects, but DBMS_SCHEDULER is owned by  (and as far as I understand, supposed to be used with) SYS user. Could someone please guide me exactly on what permissions need to be granted to which user? Also, can this be done on creating a new user and not using the default SYS and SYSTEM users?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks

• 1. Re: Executing a job using DBMS_SCHEDULER inside a trigger
    sb92075 Guru

>I intend this to be done through a trigger, which would be called on encountering specific errors in Oracle.

Intend all you want, but a trigger does not exist/fire when error gets thrown.

You need to change the application code to include  EXCEPTION  handler which would invoke DBMS_SCHEDULER

• 2. Re: Executing a job using DBMS_SCHEDULER inside a trigger

I have been able to use triggers to send email notifications on encountering this error, so that shouldn't be a problem. The trigger works AFTER SERVERERROR ON DATABASE.

I don't have the source code for the application which causes this problem, which is why I would like to handle this situation completely independent of the application. Is this even possible/feasible?

• 3. Re: Executing a job using DBMS_SCHEDULER inside a trigger
    sb92075 Guru

a73f2c5c-407f-44fa-a70d-b744a2bf5128 wrote: