This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Oct 16, 2013 4:18 PM by JDeveloper Newbie (11.1.1.6.0) RSS

Is the best practice to use database views or view objects?

JDeveloper Newbie (11.1.1.6.0) Explorer
Currently Being Moderated

Hi everyone,

If the option is available, is it preferable consolidate as much data as possible into a database view instead of doing this through view view objects? It seems the answer would be yes, but I would like to hear the pros and cons related to performance, etc.

While I do not mind a detailed discussion, practical "rule-of-thumb" advice is what I am after; I am a newbie that needs general guidelines - not theories.

James

• 1. Re: Is the best practice to use database views or view objects?
    kdario Expert

Well, it depends

- From sql query performance point of view  this probably doesn't matter.

- From maintenance point of view, maybe is faster to replace db view than to redeploy app(but applications can be versioned, so you can have old and new application running at same time and with db view you can't do that - except if you use "Edition Based Redefinition" feature available from oracle db 11gR2+)

- But, if you need to do DML operations on these db views there is big difference(for some db views you will probably need to write "instead of" triggers, figure out how to do record locking, etc.)

Dario

• 2. Re: Is the best practice to use database views or view objects?

Hi Dario,