This discussion is archived
1 2 3 Previous Next 33 Replies Latest reply: Nov 4, 2013 6:21 AM by Michael Ferrante (Oracle) RSS

How to move away from Oracle Forms since it's demise

user20131012552 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hello, I have been an Oracle Forms developer for nearly 15 years.  I have no experience in DBA, Java or .Net.

I am very good in PL/SQL, System Design.

Problem is that since now Oracle has sounded the death knell for Forms by introducing ADF, I am stuck.

Oracle Forms is a great product. The best RAD tool ever. However, it has come to the end of it's life cycle.

Sure, Oracle says Forms will not be stopped and they will continue to put out new versions (like 12c), BUT

the problem is that nobody is developing new applications using Oracle Forms. Even where I work, where

the Applications we developed was in Forms 10g, new modules are developed in Java and .Net.

Sadly, ADF has failed to impress most development community, especially top management in IT companies and IT departments.

The few places who tried to migrate their Forms applications to ADF (in my country) have failed in their attempt. ADF is considered too difficult

for Oracle Forms developers to learn quickly and also is considered as not being pure Java. i.e. People prefer to go for pure Java solutions than ADF.

We, as Oracle Forms developers are stuck. We feel very insecure and worried about our future. What can we do??

I love to go into DBA. Will doing DBA OCA/OCP make me move from Forms to a DBA?

Are there anybody with similar experience who can share their story?

Is it possible for us Forms developers to do SCJP certification and move to Java development?

Same for .NET. I.E. Doing MCP in .NET C#?

How are fellow Oracle Forms developers dealing with the death of Oracle Forms?
How are you dealing with it and moving into other areas?

Your feedback would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: How to move away from Oracle Forms since it's demise
    user12240205 Explorer