1 Reply Latest reply: Nov 20, 2013 12:52 PM by clcarter RSS

Problem with DBMS_XDB.SETLISTENERLOCALACCESS (error PLS-00201)

Hello everyone,

I'm new to oracle and I have a problem after my installation.

I install Oracle XE 11.2 on CENTOS 6.

The installation does not seem to be a problem.

Now I'm trying to activate the web interface for my lan with the command EXEC DBMS_XDB.SETLISTENERLOCALACCESS (FALSE);

Unfortunately it does not work. Here is the error:

-bash-4.1$ ./sqlplus / as sysdba

SQL*Plus: Release Production on Wed Nov 20 15:40:23 2013

Copyright (c) 1982, 2011, Oracle.  All rights reserved.

Connected to:

Oracle Database 11g Express Edition Release - 64bit Production

ERROR at line 1:

ORA-06550: line 1, column 7:

PLS-00201: identifier 'DBMS_XDB.SETLISTENERLOCALACCESS' must be declared

ORA-06550: line 1, column 7:

PL/SQL: Statement ignored

If someone can help me ... (and sorry for my english).

• 1. Re: Problem with DBMS_XDB.SETLISTENERLOCALACCESS (error PLS-00201)

Pretty sure the ...setlistenerlocalaccess call is not needed for the 11g XE version, by default in a 10g XE install remote apex access was disabled "out of the box". There was a change to that behavior in the final (?) 11g installer.

Try a `desc[ribe] dbms_xdb` in sqlplus, that should give a (fairly long) listing of that package, its procedures and functions. What matters for getting the apex web pages working is a few items that relate to the network setup for the host and how the installer gets all that set up in the $ORACLE_HOME/network/admin/listener.ora file.

Also note per the XE docs, Managing Network Connections says to use a SYSTEM connection, not SYSDBA, although for the XE setup on my (windows host) either a sysdba or a system connection both run that exec statement OK for me. Might be a linux vs. windows thing.