5 Replies Latest reply: Nov 26, 2013 6:10 PM by Marc Fielding RSS

Exadata - How many databases ?

User12054962-Oracle

Hi Members,

Exadata has amazing hardware specs for eg - even the lowest config - Exadata X3-2 Quater RAC has :

2 DB servers 3 Storage servers with very large storage , pci flash cards , faster infiband network etc ...

Now my question ...

(1)  So all these hardware is used to run only one DB (which indeed may be requiring high end configuration) ?

(2) whats the actual meaning of 2 DB servers ? you can use it for setting up two node RAC system [Assuming 1 DB server for one node] ?

(3) can these DB servers can be accessed individually to run heterogeneous environment of Databases like using 1 DB server for 1 database ..

Or its just a plain pre-configured , "no changes could be made "system ?

I am just a beginner .. so please help me in clarifying my doubts .. ?

• 1. Re: Exadata - How many databases ?
          Marc Fielding

Hello user12054962,

(1)  So all these hardware is used to run only one DB (which indeed may be requiring high end configuration

A quarter rack gives you two database servers.  You can run a single database, or more than one, at your choice.  The main factor governing the maximum umber of databases is typically the amount of memory in the servers, so I wouldn't suggest running thousands of databases on a single server.

(2) whats the actual meaning of 2 DB servers ? you can use it for setting up two node RAC system [Assuming 1 DB server for one node] ?

You get two physical servers that run Oracle database software.  You can indeed set up a two node RAC system, and this is the most common configuration.

(3) can these DB servers can be accessed individually to run heterogeneous environment of Databases like using 1 DB server for 1 database ..

Absolutely.  Or just run multiple databases on your two-node RAC system.