4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2014 4:24 PM by Timo Hahn

Can I use a later version of JDeveloper with an earlier version of ADF?

marct2014

Hi,

I am new to Oracle ADF and JDeveloper. One thing I'm not clear on at the moment is, how tightly coupled ADF and JDeveloper are. Can I develop an application that uses ADF version 11.1.1.6 say but use the latest version of JDeveloper? I want to take advantage of the latest features of JDeveloper but we cannot necessarily upgrade the whole application.

Thanks in advance.
      Marc

• 1. Re: Can I use a later version of JDeveloper with an earlier version of ADF?
          Alejandro Tovar Lanz

Hi,

Unfortunately you can't. When installing JDeveloper you are installing all the features and runtime libraries needed for your ADF version. What you can switch is the Java Version for instance but not the ADF Version. I would say that JDeveloper itself could not change at all for a next release, but what will change are the libraries used by ADF Framework which include the expected new features.

Hope this help you to find your answer.

• 2. Re: Can I use a later version of JDeveloper with an earlier version of ADF?
            marct2014

Thank you for your quick response.

When you say "Switch the Java Version" do you mean that I could just switch to JDK1.7? Or do you mean something else?

So, in summary, there is no way I can use the Maven features in the 11.1.2.X version of JDeveloper without upgrading the whole application?

• 3. Re: Can I use a later version of JDeveloper with an earlier version of ADF?
              Alejandro Tovar Lanz

Exactly, you could switch the JDK to 1.7 but then again, by doing this, you might see unexpected behavior of the JDeveloper itself.

About Maven I am not sure but if the plugin is not present, then most likely you need to upgrade the whole application. But normally the upgrading process is very easy as long as you stay in the same release.