11 Replies Latest reply: Aug 24, 2006 8:29 AM by 484267 RSS

SQL Modeler in Raptor....

Is Oracle planing to include a tool like SQL Modeler in TOAD??

I would be nice to have a tool like this coming from Oracle. I am a basic developer and sometimes I need to create really complex views.....

Do we need JDK and JRE or just JRE... could you please give more information on that??

Thanks
        • 1. Re: SQL Modeler in Raptor....
          Kris Rice-Oracle
          We do want to add a graphicaly query builder but it will not make the 1.0 release. If your on windows you don't need a jdk/jre, you can just download the bundled version. For non-windows, you will need a JDK.
          • 2. Re: SQL Modeler in Raptor....
            mhichwa-Oracle
            Jonatan,

We would very much like to provide you basic database modeling. Both JDev and warehouse builder provide this functionality in a Java IDE, so we do plan on integrating this functionality. It will not make our first release however. Like you i find it very useful to use a tool to create multiple tables, and relationships graphically. The good news is that we don't have to start from scratch to expose this; the bad news is that you will not get it in the first quarter of 2006.

Regarding the JDK or JRE, you need a 1.5 JRE and a tools.jar file. We need tools.jar to allow you to perform debug operations. The raptor home page has more information on this. We do distribute a 1.5 JRE with a tools.jar, but you can also use your 1.5 JDK and just download the smaller distribution.
            • 3. Re: SQL Modeler in Raptor....
              Thanks for the information.........

In my case, Graphical SQL Builder in Raptor is a must to replace TOAD. Now I will use Raptor for my non-development tasks.....

Thanks.
              • 4. Re: SQL Modeler in Raptor....
                Just one more thing....