6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2014 7:31 AM by Anar Godjaev

Instance not restarting automatically

Hi everybody,

we've got problems with 11.2 instances not restarting automatically. We've got a 2 node RAC, the Grid version is 11.2, but with 10.2 databases instances (asm instance in 11.2). All instances restart correctly so far. Recently, I created 2 new instances in version 11.2. Now when I restart the cluster, the 2 new instances (11.2) do not start automatically. Since I'm a newbie with rac, I don't find what's wrong. I've done some checks with srvctl, but since there's 2 oracle's home, I'm a bit confused.

Thanks for your suggestions.

• 1. Re: Instance not restarting automatically
          Vandana B -Oracle

Hello Carlos,

When having more than 1 version database running on GI, you should always ensure that while registering the database with clusterware in OCR you should the srvctl utility of the respective version only.

For, example in order to register and monitor a 10g database via a 11.2 GI, the srvctl utility must be invoked from the 10g RDBMS home only, similarly in order to register a 11.2 database the srvctl utility must be invoked from the 11.2 RDBMS home only. The same stands true for any version

Also, while creating the database via dbca, the dbca utility must be be invoked from the respective homes only.

If you have already done the above and still if the database is not coming up then you need to first verify if the srvctl utility is able to bring up the database or not.

Vandana - Oracle

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Instance not restarting automatically

Hi Carlos,

1. Note Vandana comments.

2. crsctl status res ora.orcl.db -p|grep -i AUTO_START

if result is "AUTO_START=never", execute step 3.  if result is restore: it behave in this way "Restores the resource to the same state that it was in when the server stopped". so you can still decided to change it to always.