1 2 Previous Next 23 Replies Latest reply: Mar 19, 2014 8:08 AM by Dude! RSS

How to start eth1 on boot.

I am new to OEL and have configured the network and I can access the server if I "ifup eth1", but if I reboot the machine I cannot access the machine until I run that command again.

How do I set this to start on boot?

Thanks,

-NMR

• 1. Re: How to start eth1 on boot.
          Dude!

You probably missed the "connect at startup" checkbox in the network configuration GUI or need to enter "ONBOOT=yes" in your /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth1 configuration file.

• 2. Re: How to start eth1 on boot.
            user12611628

Two options - 1) If you have Desktop(GUI) installed then you can run edit the network connection by right click on the Network icon on top right of the Desktop GUI and edit the interface settings. Select the "Connect automatically" option for your interface(eth1). 2) Or you can edit the ifcfg-<interface> configuration file and set ONBOOT="yes". In your case, the file should be /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth1 if eth1 is your interface. Save the file after setting ONBOOT=yes and that should do the trick.

• 3. Re: How to start eth1 on boot.

I did set it in ifcfg-eth1, after reboot it is not started. Any other ideas?

I had to change it from eth0 to eth1, is there anything I could have missed?

Thanks,

-NMR

• 4. Re: How to start eth1 on boot.
                EdStevens

1769248 wrote:

I did set it in ifcfg-eth1, after reboot it is not started. Any other ideas?

I had to change it from eth0 to eth1, is there anything I could have missed?

Thanks,

-NMR

EXACTLY How did you "change it"? 

• 5. Re: How to start eth1 on boot.

When I would try ifup eth0 I would get a message "Cannot find eth0". I read somewhere that it could be that the adapter is eth1, vmWare, so I changed the file name... mv /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth1.