5 Replies Latest reply: Apr 14, 2014 1:09 PM by Alex.Keh .Product.Manager-Oracle RSS

Installing ODP for .Net framework 3.5

77872a36-4ccd-4066-9518-8e5bc6792206

Hi,

I am new to all these ODP stuff. Can anyone please tell me how to install ODP.Net ? I am not sure of which version to download. I tried with both Release 12 and Release 10. And the installation did not work out for either of them   . For Release 12, I got an error that stated, that I need to install .Net 4.0. For Release 10, I got some java exception plus some error that asked me to install some access components . Looks like there are lot of dependencies.

Currently, I do not have any Oracle components installed on my system.

My system specs are as follows:

OS - Windows 7 x64

.NET version installed - 3.5

Can anyone point me to the exact ODP version which I should download and the steps I need to follow. Do I need to install anything else before installing ODP ?

Also, I would be deploying my .Net apps to a Windows server( Windows Server 2003 x64). So it is from this system that my apps would be talking to Oracle DB. So do I need to install ODP on this server as well ? And if yes, then could you please mention the ODP version for this one as well ?

• 1. Re: Installing ODP for .Net framework 3.5
          Alex.Keh .Product.Manager-Oracle

ODP.NET 12.1 should work fine with .NET 3.5 SP 1 or higher. Make sure to have at least the first service pack installed.

The installer may provide a warning that .NET 4 is not installed since ODP.NET will try to install ODP.NET for ADO.NET 2.0 (.NET 2.0-3.5) and ODP.NET for ADO.NET 4 (.NET 4 and higher).

If that fails, you can install ODAC 11.2 Release 5.

ODP.NET 12.1 does not support Windows Server 2003. I would then recommend using one of the 11.2 versions if you choose that OS.

ODP.NET does not need to be on the DB server machine.

• 2. Re: Installing ODP for .Net framework 3.5
            muffinman007