9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2014 7:59 AM by Jon632

How to refer to a queried value?

Jon632

Hi!

I have a master/detail page but not using ViewLink (I got error the first time I tried using it). What I need to do is to query the detail table based on the header_id (common column )of the master table but the search criteria is based on another column. So, when I successfully queried a master, I need to refer to the header_id column of the master and use this as the parameter in the query of the detail table. How will I do this?

thanks.

• 1. Re: How to refer to a queried value?
          fsl

Hi,

I am not sure why you are not using the ViewLink for your requirement.

What error do you get when using viewlink and if you are not using view link how are you going to show the detail records related to master records?

Br,906099

• 2. Re: How to refer to a queried value?
            Jon632

After querying the master record, I also manually query the detail record, with this I am able to simulate a master/detail mechanism "manually". I should be trying again using ViewLink. Anyway, my immediate requirement now, not just for master/detail, is to be able to refer to an attribute of a previously queried vo. I guess it has something to do with getAttribute but my still little knowledge of jdeveloper is stopping me from comprehending well. Hopefully you can help me.

thanks.

• 3. Re: How to refer to a queried value?
              fsl

Hi,

I am not sure how are you trying to implement this.

But you can get the handle of the row on some event for that you will have to create an event on the item.

Here is the code which might help you in some way:

String rowRef =
                          pageContext.getParameter(EVENT_SOURCE_ROW_REFERENCE);
                      OARow row = (OARow)am.findRowByRef(rowRef);

String header_id=row.getAttribute("header_id");

Br, 906099

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: How to refer to a queried value?