5 Replies Latest reply: May 9, 2014 11:14 AM by Iouri_Chadour RSS

Signon issue

user5583340

Hi everyone,

This is my first time on this forum so I apologize in advance for my naivety in posting.

We are on 9.1 and we have a process that emails new users a password. The process for some reason adds spaces before and after the password and when our new users copy and paste the password into their browsers to login to peoplesoft it gives them an error. I realize it is a simple thing to tell the users to TYPE the password instead of copy and paste but that hasn't worked and our help people are being inundated with calls so they want it "fixed"

We have had some developers look into the process that generates the email to see if they can remove the spaces there but they have determined that HTML is generating them and they can't (or won't) change that.

So the task has been given me to remove them as part of the signon process. I thought that perhaps adding signon peoplecode to remove the spaces would work but the only area I see to do that is in LDAP which we are not using.

Can someone tell me where to find the process that does the INITIAL signon so I can add some code there?

The Oracle documentation says the system uses the PSAPPSRV.CFG file to perform the initial connection and and then runs a SQL select to the various security tables. My thought is that if I knew where to find that select, I can trim the SignonUserPswd variable before the select is run.

Can this be done or am I just dreaming?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Signon issue
          User402426

PeopleSoft has a delieverd variable "%SignonUserPswd" and "%%SignonUserId". These variables captures login password and login id from the PeopleSoft login screen and then these values are passed to LDAP functions to authenticate the user.So you can use these variables to trim spaces before and after the password.

Let me know if this helps

• 2. Re: Signon issue
            Iouri_Chadour