10 Replies Latest reply: Jun 19, 2014 10:05 AM by 2686376 RSS

Appending to an existing value?

Hi Guys,

I am new to Berkeley DB. I was wondering if there is a way to append to some existing value in the db. In my application, the value is in the form of link-list( which is converted to DataEntry). On every updation, I want to append to it and then write it to the disk. Currently I am using Berkeley DB in a synchronous mode. So, everytime i make an update, the entire value is read to memory and then update is made and this large updated value is written back to disk. This take a lot of time. Is there a way by which the change can just be appended to the list? There is flag Db.DB_APPEND in com.sleepycat.db.*(Berkeley DB standard), but is there something similar in Berkeley DB Java Edition ?

• 1. Re: Appending to an existing value?
          Greybird-Oracle

Db.DB_APPEND does not append to the end of a record in the standard edition, I think you misunderstood what it is.  In any case, appending of any sort is not supported in BDB JE.

If you're seeing performance problems, it may be because you're using read-modify-write to maintain a list in a single record.  This is not recommended for optimal performance, because each update adds a new log entry in JE's append-only storage system.

Instead, try inserting a separate record for each list entry.

--mark

• 2. Re: Appending to an existing value?

Thanks a lot Mark. But, isn't there a motivation to have appending feature? As in the above mentioned case, to handle a read request, all the key-value pairs have to be read and it may take a lot of time. Also, inserting separate record for each list entry may not be able to provide "locality property" as the data may not be stored consecutively. Is there any database which provides a way to store link-list directly as a value and update a part?

• 3. Re: Appending to an existing value?
              User733634-Oracle