11 Replies Latest reply: Jul 22, 2014 3:12 PM by LosLobo RSS

How do you build test cases so when a new class is added it automatically gets tested?

LosLobo

I'm trying to develop a system for test cases so that whenever a test case is added to a particular package it will automatically be included in testing without having to manually add that particular test case.  What is the best way to achieve this?  Should I use java reflection?

Please excuse me if theres some obvious solution to this.  I'm just getting started with Jenkins and trying to configure Selenium test cases.

• 1. Re: How do you build test cases so when a new class is added it automatically gets tested?
          rp0428
          I'm trying to develop a system for test cases so that whenever a test case is added to a particular package it will automatically be included in testing without having to manually add that particular test case.  What is the best way to achieve this?  Should I use java reflection?

Please excuse me if theres some obvious solution to this.  I'm just getting started with Jenkins and trying to configure Selenium test cases.

What does any of that have to do with Java and this forum?

You should post your question in a forum for Jenkins or Selenium.

Generally speaking you should NOT hard-code lists of ANYTHING or embed those lists in code. That method is not scaleable, flexible or easily maintained. Just because a test case exists does NOT mean that is should be automatically included in every test run that is performed.

• 2. Re: How do you build test cases so when a new class is added it automatically gets tested?
            LosLobo

Hoping someone might have a suggestion.  Right now reflection is the only option thats coming to me.  Seems more like a java question than selenium, Jenkins, thats why I submitted it to this forum.  Hoping someone has some useful thoughts.

• 3. Re: How do you build test cases so when a new class is added it automatically gets tested?