4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 14, 2014 5:30 AM by Sven W. RSS

Performance Tuning SQL Query

I have to tune this query, and I think the condition "AND ((co_cd_srt IN('12', '13', '14') AND... causing it to delay for over 14 hours

I am using 11g version and the number of records in this table is close to 90 million. can you help me to start up with this, I am new to oracle tuning.

SELECT   co_cd_srt,

Sum(tot_prem) AS tot_prem

FROM   gkpr.ahm_prem_fact

WHERE   wvr_prem = 'N'

AND t_dt<= To_date('2012-03-31', 'YYYY-MM-DD')

AND ((co_cd_srt IN('12', '13', '14') AND t_dt>= To_date('2012-11-01', 'YYYY-MM-DD')) OR (co_cd_srt IN( '1', '8', '7', '15', '16')))

GROUP  BY co_cd_srt,

Message was edited by: NeilCSE corrected the typo.

• 1. Re: Performance Tuning SQL Query

Hello Neil,

here is your query slightly modified;  a few remarks:

- usually we write the condition on ROWNUM at the end, to "show" that this comes at the very end (but this doesn't change anything for Oracle)

- double check that co_cd_srt is a STRING and not a NUMBER (otherwise the conditions should not use '1', '12', ... but 1, 7, 8, ...)

- you ask twice the field p_out, maybe it is on purpose for your output, but anyway you don't have to write it twice in the GROUP BY

- good practice: prefix the columns names with an alias.

- it may very well be that the best way to execute the query is to run a full scan on the table (90M rows is not that much), but 14 hours seems very very long

SELECT a.co_cd_srt

, a.s_num

, a.p_out

, a.t_dt

, SUM( a.tot_prem ) AS tot_prem

FROM gkpr.ahm_prem_fact a

WHERE a.wvr_prem = 'N'

AND a.t_dt <= TO_DATE( '2012-03-31', 'YYYY-MM-DD' )

AND a.co_cd_srt IN ( '1', '12', '13', '14', '15', '16', '7', '8' )

AND (    a.t_dt >= TO_DATE( '2012-11-01', 'YYYY-MM-DD' )

OR a.co_cd_srt IN ( '1', '8', '7', '15', '16' )

AND ROWNUM <= 100

GROUP BY a.co_cd_srt

, a.s_num

, a.p_out

, a.t_dt

Best regards,

Bruno Vroman.

• 2. Re: Performance Tuning SQL Query

Thanks Bruno,