7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 27, 2014 1:33 AM by Scott Wesley

Free-form page formatting

User formerly known as 1622096

I've been trying to search on this but don't really know even what keywords to use, so forgive me if this has been asked and answered before.

I've been using ApEx for a few months, and while I can easily produce pages that look like one of the ApEx templated pages, i.e. Tabular reports, standard HTML forms, master/detail reports, etc, I'd like to know the best way to create a webpage that uses data from a table in a totally customized way.  What I'd like to do is use the "blank page" template, but then be able to select data from a table (one single result) and have that data available to me as needed as I build the HTML for the page.  I can't seem to figure out how to select the data and have it available (in session variables or otherwise) without using a report template.  Using a report region is too restrictive and inflexible.

One solution I've seen is to build a PL/SQL function that returns the HTML coding along with the data from the database.  I dislike this solution because it transfers all the formatting of the page away from ApEx.  It's difficult to maintain that kind of HTML code.  I'd much prefer a PHP-like layout where I can inject data elements within HTML code.  Is such a thing possible with ApEx?

• 1. Re: Free-form page formatting

Between posting and "learning", I found the Dynamic Content Region page type which along with the htp package is pretty much what I was looking for.

• 2. Re: Free-form page formatting
            fac586

User formerly known as 1622096 wrote: