7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2016 5:38 PM by Cindys-Oracle

Moving EMC storage bay to new secundairy datacenter

Hi,

Next month we will be moving our EMC storage bay to our new datacenter. And since this is my first time moving a storage bay, I'm not sure what to do on our Solaris boxes.

All our solaris systems are Solaris 10 with only ZFS as the filesystem. All the pools are mirrors of two LUN's. One LUN on our bay in the primary datacenter and the other one on our bay in the secundairy datacenter.

So now I was thinking, as far as ZFS is concerned, the "cleanest" way to go about this is to offline the LUN that resides on the bay that will be moved. This way ZFS won't try to access it any more.

But on the OS level, I'm not sure.

Do I leave everything as is, so when the bay will shut down, Solaris will lose connectivity to the LUN's residing on this bay and when it come's up again, Solaris will take care of it and "reconfigure" the LUN's again so afterwards I can just online the LUN's in ZFS and it resilvers.

OR,

Do I take the LUN's offline with luxadm, cfgadm, ...... before the storage bay shut down ? And if so, will these LUN's be visible again after the storage bay boot's up again ?

OR

Is there another way to go about this

If someone has any thoughts on this, feel free.

Cheers,

Pascal.

• 1. Re: Moving EMC storage bay to new secundairy datacenter
          Cindys-Oracle

HI Pascal,

Very good questions you are asking, but the most important one is:

Is it a requirement that your ZFS storage pools remain active when the storage (one mirrored LUN) is moved?

Thanks, Cindy

• 2. Re: Moving EMC storage bay to new secundairy datacenter

Hi Cindys,

I know, that would make things infinitely easier. But alas, yes, there are a bunch of pools on production systems that we can't shut down. So any thoughts would be helpful

Cheers,

Pascal

• 3. Re: Moving EMC storage bay to new secundairy datacenter
              Tedw-Oracle