3 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2016 5:40 PM by 2681470

JsonTreeDataSource & REST call stuck on "Fetching Data" in list

Hi,

I'm new to JET and currently developing a Hybrid application that is making a REST call to retrieve some JSON data and display in a list.

I can see that the REST call is working as the console is returning the data output, how ever the list component remains displaying some text "Fetching data..."

model script:

define(['ojs/ojcore', 'knockout', 'jquery', 'ojs/ojknockout', 'ojs/ojmenu', 'ojs/ojlistview', 'ojs/ojjsontreedatasource', 'ojs/ojrouter', 'ojs/ojtree'],

function (oj, ko, $)

{

var self = this;

function RestModel()

{

$.ajax({

url: 'url-here',

type: 'GET',

dataType: 'json',

error: function(jqXHR, exception) { alert('boo!'); },

beforeSend: setHeader,

success: function(data) {

console.log(data);

self.dataSource = new oj.JsonTreeDataSource(data, {idAttribute: "id"});

}

});

function setHeader(xhr) {

xhr.setRequestHeader('authorization-here');

xhr.setRequestHeader('oracle-mobile-backend-id-here');

}

I'm unsure how to resolve this and don't seem to be able to find any code examples of REST being used to populate a list.

If I change the code to use ArrayTableDataSource instead:

console.log(data);

self.dataSet = new ko.observableArray(data);

self.dataSource = new oj.ArrayTableDataSource(self.dataSet, {idAttribute: "id"});

}

Then I get nothing loaded on the first visit to the page, and then on the second visit to the page the data is displayed as expected, how ever obviously this is not ideal that the page must be reloaded, and also does not display the "Fetching data..." message that seems to be displayed when using JsonTreeDataSource.

Any ideas what I am doing wrong here?

With Thanks,

• 1. Re: JsonTreeDataSource & REST call stuck on "Fetching Data" in list
          John 'JB' Brock-Oracle

Hello,

This sounds like a possible race condition with the data not being available before the DOM is initialized.