Create staging area fails

Hi,

As a Oracle EBS newbie I try to install Oracle EBS 12.1.3 from scratch but i have a issue with the staging area.

I downloaded all 12.1.3 ZIP files (26 files) from eDelivery and copied them to the Linux server (OL 6.7). On the Linux server i successfully performed a MD5 checksum on all ZIP files.

After i unzipped (unzip -d <directoryname> zipfile) all files to the staging area, i performed my first installation. The installation failed and i noticed in the installdbf.log

something was wrong with a file in my staging area (oraAppDB./Disk1/data/stage/data_dat130.zip). I checked (unzipt -t <filename>) all ZIP files in my staging area and noticed some ZIP files

had one of the following issue(s):

• xxxx extra bytes at beginning or within zipfile
    • start of central directory not found

I tried a different unzip version (5.x instead of 6) but the problem remains. I even searched Oracle's support site, but was unable to find a solution :-(

Any idea how i can solve the issue with the staging area so i can continue the installation of EBS?

TIA

Jaap

• 1. Re: Create staging area fails
        mdtaylor

Rather than using unzip -d on all zip files, user adautostg.pl to create the staging area after unzipping the startcd disk.  Please delete all directories except startcd and try that.

Oracle E-Business Suite Installation Guide: Using Rapid Install

• 2. Re: Create staging area fails
          Srini Chavali-Oracle

EBS 12.1.3 ? Can you post a screenshot of the E-Delivery page ? AFAIK, there is no installation media for 12.1.3. You will need to install 12.1.1 and patch up to 12.1.3. Perhaps you mean 12.1.3 VM template files ? Or, as Michael implies, you are referring to 12.2.x ?

• 3. Re: Create staging area fails
            mdtaylor

Hi Srini,

It's been a long time and it's good to be back in the forums.  I was assuming the author was installing 12.1.1 and patching to 12.1.3 in the normal way.

Regards,

Michael