9 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2017 11:20 AM by Martien van den Akker

How to use db adapter for multiple table update

Hi,

I am trying to use db adapter using Oracle BPM 12C to insert/update data from multiple tables (external oracle db tables). The scenario is like -

Suppose I am having 7 tables in db. Out of 7 tables 5 are having relations and 2 are not having any relations. And the requirement is to insert or sometimes update the existing data in these tables in my BPM process. Although this might be a small job to do but as I am new to this technology, can anyone of you please suggest me the best way to do this with steps if possible.

• 1. Re: How to use db adapter for multiple table update
          Carlos Cortez

Hello,

If you are going to insert or update on multiple tables, then you could use a BPEL component and expose it as a web service to consume it from BPM, then you pass the arguments to the web service.

Inside BPEL you will call several db adapters as your needs, each inserting or updating in the righ table, something like this:

This is an approach that you can use if you don't want to have a lot of db adapters in your BPM Composite, also in a future if you need to change something related to the inserts, updates etc then you only have to modify the BPEL, not the BPM process.

Regards

Carlos

• 2. Re: How to use db adapter for multiple table update
            Martien van den Akker

Hi User and Carlos,

Indeed, BPEL orchestration is one (good) approach. Although I'm a BPEL adept from the first hour (at least in the Netherlands) I often felt that I was somehow 'programming Pl/Sql in BPEL', put otherwise doing in BPEL what could be done in Pl/Sql. That why I one wrote http://www.darwin-it.nl/uploads/media/CodeGenerationWithXSLT.pdf . And a few years ago expanded this into a framework that also supported relationships.