9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2020 8:28 PM by 4209507

ora-12560: tns:protocol adapter error

Hello, This is my first time on here and first time working with oracle database. So my problem is that after i installed 18c XE and check the service on my computer there is no OracleServiceORCL. So its like i lost connection to the server completely, i used to have 11c and i manually uninstalled it for the 18 which i followed online and end up deleting the server in service on my computer. How do i get that back so i do not have this error.

Thank you for any replay

• 1. Re: ora-12560: tns:protocol adapter error
          L. Fernigrini

The Oracle 18 XE installation creates a windows service called OracleServiceXE.

I'm not sure of what your problem is, I understand that you had 11g installed (XE or SE or EE?) and you uninstalled it to install 18c XE (that is OK if the 11g was also a XE edition, you can only have one XE installed on the same machine).

Did the 18c XE installation finished OK? If not, do you want to fix the 18c installation or do you want to reinstall the 11g?

Please explain with more details what you have done, the problems you have and include the exact syntax and errors. Use some screen capture (if you are using a GUI tool) or directly copy/paste if you are using command line.

And also please follow this guideline when posting new questions, that will help you get answers quicker:

https://community.oracle.com/message/9362002#

• 2. Re: ora-12560: tns:protocol adapter error

Hello L.Fernigrini