4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2020 11:13 AM by carajandb

Is it common to have multiple CDBs in a physical server ?

BlueSkies

DB version: 19c

OS version: OL 8.2 (proposed)

Physical server has 96 CPU cores, 512 GB RAM

I am a newbie to the multitenant world.

I have a requirement to run 3 OLTP DBs and 1 DWH database in a physical server. All DBs will have the same version (19.3.0.0.0).

I was hoping to run create one CDB and then create these 4 (3 OLTP + 1 DWH) databases as pluggable databases. But, my Data Warehousing DB has different init.ora requirements like db_block_size=16K. So, I guess, I need to create a separate container database with just one DWH pluggable database. Right ?

SQL> select name from v$database;

NAME
      ---------
      FRCDB24

SQL> 
      SQL> show con_name

CON_NAME
      ------------------------------
      FR24TSMPRDPDB
      SQL> 
      SQL> 

SQL> select ISPDB_MODIFIABLE, count(*) from v$parameter group by ISPDB_MODIFIABLE order by count(*) desc;

ISPDB   COUNT(*)
      -----  ----------
      FALSE      254
      TRUE       191

SQL> show parameter db_block_size

NAME                                   TYPE       VALUE
      ------------------------------------ ----------- ------------------------------
      db_block_size                          integer     8192
      SQL> 

Another related question:

Is there a list of things which cannot be altered within PDBs, not just initialization parameters? At least the top annoying ones.

• 1. Re: Is it common to have multiple CDBs in a physical server ?
          Markus Flechtner

> I have a requirement to run 3 OLTP DBs and 1 DWH database in a physical server. All DBs will have the same version (19.3.0.0.0).