This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: May 11, 2007 8:43 AM by Hussein Sawwan-Oracle RSS

system backup

305235 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all,
Could someone point me to a place (web, Metalink artictle, ...) where I can learn about backup of E-Busssiness Suite and database.
I am running 11i on 9.2.06

Thanks,
Eugene
  • 1. Re: system backup
    317243 Newbie
    here is a start, from the database perspective http://download-east.oracle.com/docs/cd/B10501_01/server.920/a96519/toc.htm
  • 2. Re: system backup
    Hussein Sawwan-Oracle Employee ACE
    Nothing much special about E-Business Suite backup.

Just make sure you stop your applications services, database listener, and the database properly then you can back it up.

Have a look at the following thread for more details:

Apps Backup
  • 3. Re: system backup
    305235 Newbie
    Thanks for your replies and links.
    I am new to apps and my understanding is that I have to backup application code, logs, ... datafiles ALL in one script. Is this true?
    I am using RMAN to backup other databases and can posibly employ it to backup apps d/b, right? What about application code? How do I do that?

Thanks,
    Eugene
  • 4. Re: system backup
    I am new to apps and my understanding is that I have
    to backup application code, logs, ... datafiles ALL
    in one script. Is this true?
    Not necessarily, just bear in mind that it should be synchronous. So whenever you make a change at the Application and such a change update the DB then you should backup both.
    I am using RMAN to backup other databases and can
    posibly employ it to backup apps d/b, right?
    Apps DB is just like any other Oracle DB. Definitely you can use RMAN to back it up.
    What about application code? How do I do that?