This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Aug 12, 2008 10:39 AM by robvarga RSS

coherence grids as a service event medium?

650602 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,

I am a coherence newbie and I'm thinking about the following problem:

I'm currently doing a poc for an application using coherence. My application consists of several physical nodes. (The app should be scalable) The nodes all host an instantiation of the same application (Java spring). The hosts are connected to eachother via several (distributed) coherence data grids (caches).

I plan to use some of the datagrids as a medium for ServiceRequest objects. As all nodes are connected to the grid, all nodes should be able to fetch their fair share of ServiceRequest objects and handle the service requests accordingly.

I am thinking of implementing this behaviour using the continuous query principle. This means that all nodes have their own running version of the same continuous query. However it seems to me that when one Service Request is placed into the distributed grid, all nodes will receive an invocation of the event and will all handle the same request which means a (#nodes -1) redundancy. Obviously this is not what i want.

Could someone tell me if there is a solution for this, or am i in the completely wrong direction?

Thanks in advance!

Tim
  • 1. Re: coherence grids as a service event medium?
    robvarga Oracle ACE
    Hi Tim,

first, let me correct some of your naming convention mistakes.

What you described would most probably be a single grid (cluster) with one or more named caches.

As for what you try to do, if you want to partition your load to multiple JVMs, then you can use multiple approaches: