This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 24 Replies Latest reply: Nov 29, 2012 1:59 PM by 639907 RSS

Oracle + Disc space

657368 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,
I'm completely new with oracle databases. Since I installed Oracle 9i and I've had problems with Oracle. It consumes a lot of disc space. I had 10 gb free after Oracle installation, but then Oracle took it all. When I delete some files , retrieved free space is taken by Oracle. Generally I need Oracle to be able to read already created Oracle database and fetch some data from that database to my ms sql database. Maybe some advices what version of oracle should i install ?? And why Oracle consumes so much memory.
  • 1. Re: Oracle + Disc space
    Aman.... Oracle ACE
    I guess you have created teh database with the pre-supplied templates like General Purpose and all that. If yes than indeed the file sizes and the memory acquired by the database will be some what larger. Though it can be controlled too to some extent but still it will create some what larger database only.
    What you can do is that you can create a Custom database using Database Configuration assistant and can allocate evrey thing depending upon your need. It won't create any "additional" tablespaces which will consume much disk space.
    Aman....
  • 2. Re: Oracle + Disc space
    Nicolas.Gasparotto Oracle ACE
    If you need to connect to an exxisting database, you should install the Oracle Client software instead of the database manager. The space requirement for client is less than the database (less than 1Gb, read here).
    I had 10 gb free after Oracle installation, but then Oracle took it all
    And why Oracle consumes so much memory.
    But you seems a bit confusing between disk space and memory usage. Where is the database you are connected onto ?

Nicolas.
  • 3. Re: Oracle + Disc space
    657368 Newbie