10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2011 12:29 PM by 300230

Running a Windows BAT file using DBMS_SCHEDULER

Antilles
      My Oracle db is on a Windows machine, and I'm trying to call a DOS BAT file using DBMS_SCHEDULER

I'm new to Oracle but the code I've worked out so far is:

BEGIN
      DBMS_SCHEDULER.drop_job ('testjob');
      DBMS_SCHEDULER.CREATE_JOB (
      job_name => 'testjob',
      job_type => 'EXECUTABLE',
      job_action =>'c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe /c c:\test.bat > nul',
      auto_drop=>false,
      enabled => TRUE
      );
      DBMS_SCHEDULER.run_job ('testjob');
      END;

And I've granted the CREATE EXTERNAL JOB permission to my user.

The test BAT file I'm calling simply deletes another file (just to prove the concept that I can actually run the BAT file). The above code appears to run fine (in SQL Developer) but the BAT file doesn't actually seem to do anything. If I run the BAT file manually (by double clicking), it deletes the target file. But when running through Oracle it never does.

If I change the name of test.bat in the above code to a file which doesn't exist, I get an error - proving that at least Oracle is finding the BAT file.

Any ideas? Anyone got something similar to work on a Windows box?
        • 1. Re: Running a Windows BAT file using DBMS_SCHEDULER
          Could you check the OracleJobScheduler Windows service

From the Windows Platform guide for 10gR2

This release includes a new database scheduler to provide enterprise scheduling functionality. External jobs performed by the user are started using the OracleJobScheduler service. This service is disabled by default. In order to use the external jobs functionality, the administrator must set the username and password for the user account under which this service must run and enable the service.