This discussion is archived
1 Reply Latest reply: Sep 29, 2008 2:23 PM by 251301 RSS

New to Oracle intermedia/ multimedia

577359 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi guys, I'm new to Oracle intermedia. I have questions regarding on this topic.

1. Can i insert images directly to table rows?
2. What is the best approach if I'm using Oracle as back end, ASP as front end. I need to insert, update, delete and retrieve images in the Oracle database using my ASP application(This is MapGuide GIS application). Should I create directory to store all my images or save the images directly to tables?
3. Which is the best to use, BLOB, BFILE or ORDImage.?

Thanks and Regards
Jay
  • 1. Re: New to Oracle intermedia/ multimedia
    251301 Explorer
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hi,

Before I answer your questions, I note that you are creating a GIS application. Are these images associated with coordinates or otherwise gridded data (layers etc)? If yes, you may want to take a look at the GeoRaster component of the Oracle Spatial option.
    See www.oracle.com/technology/products/spatial/index.html for more information
    ---------------------
    GeoRaster is a feature of Oracle Spatial that lets you store, index, query, analyze,
    and deliver raster image and gridded data and its associated metadata. GeoRaster
    provides Oracle spatial data types and an object-relational schema. You can use
    these data types and schema objects to store multidimensional grid layers and
    digital images that can be referenced to positions on the Earth's surface or in a
    local coordinate system. If the data is georeferenced, you can find the location on
    Earth for a cell in an image; or given a location on Earth, you can find the cell in
    an image associated with that location.
    ---------------------------

The Oracle Multimedia OTN home page is http://www.oracle.com/technology/products/intermedia/index.html