4 Replies Latest reply: Nov 3, 2008 6:23 AM by 656067 RSS

Using a StoredProcedureCall - session

Hi,
      pls help me!
      I'm a newbie in the use of TopLink. I want call PL/SQL stored procedures from Oracle. I try example ftrom TopLink documentation:

Example 109–46 Specifying a StoredProcedureCall with an Input Argument: JDBC Data
      Types
      // CREATE PROCEDURE INSERT_EMPLOYEE(L_NAME IN VARCHAR) AS
      // BEGIN
      // Insert an EMP record initialized with last name.
      // END;
      StoredProcedureCall spcall = new StoredProcedureCall();
      spcall.setProcedureName("INSERT_EMPLOYEE");
      spcall.addNamedArgument("L_NAME", "last_name");
      DataModifyQuery query = new DataModifyQuery();
      query.setCall(spcall);
      query.addArgument("last_name"); // input
      Vector arguments = new Vector();
      arguments.add("MacDonald");
      session.executeQuery(query, arguments);

But I don't now, how works this "session" - session.executeQuery(query, arguments);

Please, somebody help me. The best would be an example, or even source code, how to create and use these sessions.
        • 1. Re: Using a StoredProcedureCall - session
          Cdelahun-Oracle
          Hello,

The early parts of the documentation you are looking at describe sessions. For a tutorial and examples, I'd recommend:
          http://www.oracle.com/technology/products/ias/toplink/doc/11110/tutorial/index.htm

http://www.oracle.com/technology/products/ias/toplink/doc/index.html
          has all the docs and tutorials for different TopLink versions.

Best Regards,
          Chris
          • 2. Re: Using a StoredProcedureCall - session
            JamesSutherland