1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply: Jul 24, 2013 11:31 AM by Benjamin Finkel RSS

ESSSVR.exe utilizing 100% CPU

Hello Everyone

I have just finished a fresh install of Essbase 11, migrated a few applications over, and for a time everything works as it should.

But leave the server running for a couple of days (with very little usage) and the essbase service utilizes 100% cpu, making the essbase unusable. The event reoccurs after service & server reboot

I'm fairly new to the Essbase world :) any help would be appreciated

Thanks

Essbase 11.1.1
      Windows Server 2003 SP2, 4way CPU 4GB ram
        • 1. Re: ESSSVR.exe utilizing 100% CPU
          You will have to kill the essvr process from process explorer or try to stop the active applications that are not in use, to bring down the CPU Utilization.

Regards,
          Cnee
          • 2. Re: ESSSVR.exe utilizing 100% CPU
            CL
            Have you looked at the Essbase.log and application logs?

Tried to see which application (a given app will be tied to a ESSSVR.EXE process, but the only way to know is to see what databases are actively loaded -- it is a pain) is running? Any automated actions that may cause it to fire off? Again, the application log will be your guide.

Or is it ESSBASE.EXE that's logging 100% of the CPU? It can't be CPUs as even in 11x the Essbase agent is still single threaded (I believe that to still be true).

I'll throw out that there may be some antivirus/backup software out there conflicting with Essbase, but the behavior you describe isn't typical -- usually it's a database that can't stop/unload/calculate/etc because .PAG/.IND in BSO and .DAT files in ASO are locked -- but I suppose it's still a possibility.

Obviously something is making Essbase throw restraint to the wind -- the logs can help you.

Regards,

Cameron Lackpour
            • 3. Re: ESSSVR.exe utilizing 100% CPU
              Thanks for the feedback everyone