This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Jul 9, 2009 11:51 PM by 650945 RSS

Regarding dbowner.sql

650945 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi All,

I am new to people soft Env, at the installation we need to run dbowner.sql which under PS_HOME/script/nt when i open that script i found create PS user grant dba to PS and revoke role DBA from PS i don't understand logic behind that can some one help me in this issue.

Thanks In Advance,
napi.
  • 1. Re: Regarding dbowner.sql
    710576 Newbie
    Hi Napi,

The PS schema is used to hold the PSDBOWNER which maps the name of the peoplesoft databasse to the schema in the database that holds it.

This table allows peoplesoft to manage multiple peoplesoft databases within a single oracle database.

Thats why we keep this PSDBOWNER table under a separate schema called PS.

GRANT CONNECT, RESOURCE, DBA TO PS IDENTIFIED BY PS;
    CONNECT PS/PS;
    CREATE TABLE PSDBOWNER (DBNAME VARCHAR2(8) NOT NULL, OWNERID VARCHAR2(8) NOT NULL ) TABLESPACE PSDEFAULT;
    CREATE UNIQUE INDEX PS_PSDBOWNER ON PSDBOWNER (DBNAME) TABLESPACE PSDEFAULT;
    CREATE PUBLIC SYNONYM PSDBOWNER FOR PSDBOWNER;
    GRANT SELECT ON PSDBOWNER TO PUBLIC;
    CONNECT system/manager;
    REVOKE CONNECT, RESOURCE, DBA FROM PS;

The scripts actually grant connect and DBA privilage to PS user id inorder to connect and create a table in database.

when we try to connect to peoplesoft using 4-tier or 3-tier it actually connects to db using your connect id, and then it issues a select query againts PSDBOWNER in order to get the ownerid. Thats why it creates the synonym to PSDBOWNER TABLE inorder to grant access to public.

Then once everything is done, it revokes the permission from PS user id.

Ramalakshmi
  • 2. Re: Regarding dbowner.sql
    650945 Newbie
    Hi rama,